11 Aug 2022

Kilkenny GAA: Jimmy Walsh to take over as chairman

Kilkenny GAA: Walsh to take over as chairman

Jimmy Walsh to become next chairman of the County Board

Current GAA secretary, Jimmy Walsh (Windgap) will be the next chairman of Kilkenny County Board.
The Windgap official was the only nominee to take over from out going chairman, Ned Quinn (Mooncoin) when nominations for annual GAA Convention closed on Monday.
Mr Quinn steps down having served a hugely successful five year term.
The Mooncoin man served in the chair twice, between 1999 and 2007 and he started his current term in 2013.
He also served as secretary (2008 to 2012) and he was vice-chairman between 1995 and 1998.
All the main officers of the ’Board will step down at Convention having completed the stipulated five years under GAA rules.
Current vice-chairman, Conor Denieffe (O'Loughlin Gaels) has been nominated to take over as secretary from Mr Walsh.
The current treasurer, Barry Hickey (John Lockes) is not bound by the five year rule and he will remain in situ.
Mr Walsh was the first Windgap official to serve as secretary, and he will be the first member of the club to sit in the chair too.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.