08 Aug 2022

Kilkenny chairman calls for review of minor championship

Kilkenny chairman calls for review of minor championship

At the annual Convention of Bord-na-nOg, chairman John Byrne (Bennettsbridge) said he saw the marathon 10 game run of the Kilkenny minor hurlers to the All-Ireland final as one highlight.
Title winners Galway had a mere four game run, something Mr Byrne felt should be looked at.
This point was repeated by Central Council delegate, Ned Quinn, who thought it wrong that a team could lose five games at minor level and end up as All-Ireland champions.
The good run of the under-14 Tony Forristal team to the final highlighted the huge effort going into the Development Squads.
The chairman lauded the efforts of all involved and complimented his fellow officers, reserving special praise for secretary, Willie Dempsey and Joe Pyke.
The Bennettsbridge official pointed out that 37 of the 43 competitions were completed, with the remainder to be finished in the coming days.
Mr Dempsey felt the year had shown huge promise for Kilkenny. His highlight was the success of the Kilkenny footballers with manager, Christy Walsh. He also noted the continued great work at all schools and Squads levels.
The Thomastown man detailed all the new changes that were implemented for 2018 and urged clubs to play fixtures on time as players do not request changes - it is clubs.
A particular problem this season was the new inter-county minor hurling format which caused problems throughout the year. He thanked clubs for their understanding.
Mr Dempsey was far from impressed by the new format for the Arrabawn tournament, which demanded an extra weekend of fixtures and dug into club time.
He finished by looking forward to Kilkenny’s re-introduction to the Leinster minor football championship in 2019 after the huge work put in by D.J. Carey and his management team over the last three to four years. A panel of 43 players has been developed, competing well in the Manning Cup.
Treasurer Ray Byrne praised all who manned gates during the year, and Joe Pyke who continued to liaise with the sponsors.
Officers elected - chairman, John Byrne (Bennettsbridge); vice-chairman, John Reid (Dunnamaggin); secretary, Willie Dempsey (Thomastown); treasurer, Ray Byrne (Glenmore); PRO, Patrick Flynn (St Martin’s); registrar, Mary Fitzgerald (Tullogher Rosbercon).

For more on Kilkenny People sport read here.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.