08 Aug 2022

Plenty of action on handball front

Results from the Leinster 40x20 handball championships:

Results from the Leinster 40x20 handball championships:

Minor singles - J.J. English (Goresbridge) bt Brendan Hyland (Kells); Galen Riordan (Wexford) bt Brian Mahon (Clogh); Evan Sheridan (Meath) w/o Emmet Landy (Windgap).

Under-21 singles - Sean Foley (Windgap) w/o Stephen O’Dwyer (Kells).

Ladies junior B singles - Sabrina Hughes (Dublin) bt Aishling Maher (Clogh); Maria McCarthy (Dublin) bt Julie Walsh (Windgap).

Junior B singles - Ger Anthony (Mullinavat) bt Andrew Dowling (Laois); Philip Lonergan (Windgap) bt Maurice Murray (Kildare).

Junior B doubles - Andrew Dowling/Peter Whelan (Laois) w/o Dan Breen, inj (Kells)/Fergal Lalor (Talbot’s Inch).

Junior singles - William Love (Clogh) bt Felix Doran (Wexford); Pat O’Donnell (Wicklow) bt Ger McGrath (Kells); Brendan Burke w/o Brian Doherty (Offaly).

Silver Masters A singles - Paddy Donovan (Laois) bt Chris Dunne (O’Loughlin’s).

Silver Masters B singles - David Bourke (Mothel) bt Billy Higginbottom (Kildare) and also defeated Tom Dooley (Kilfane).

Emerald Masters A singles - Eamon Purcell (Windgap) bt Sean Ryan (Carlow).

Golden Masters A singles - Robert McCarthy (Westmeath) bt Martin Lalor (Talbot’s Inch); Padraig Maguire (Kildare) bt Jimmy Purcell (Windgap).

Golden Masters B singles - Pat Funchion (Kells) bt Niall Leavy (Kildare).

County 40x20 results

Senior singles - Peter Funchion (Kells) w/o Eddie Bourke (O’Loughlin’s); Ger McGrath (Kells) w/o Eamon Hawe, inj (Windgap).

Senior B singles - Philip Lonergan (Windgap) bt Eoghan Hennessy (Clogh).

Junior singles - Shane Walsh (Windgap) bt Lee Quinn (Windgap).

Results of Gael Linn under-13 mixed doubles - Kilfane’s Jack Holden and Dearbhail O’Keeffe won Group 1 Leinster final with Kells Eoin Brennan and KerriAnne Power runner up in Group 2 Leinster final. Kilfane go on to represent Leinster in the All-Ireland Gael Linn finals on February 9.

Kells meeting

Kells handball club held their annual meeting recently. There was a very good attendance. The secretary thanked everyone who supported the club last year.

Officers elected - Michael Delahunty (chairman); Tom McGrath (vice-chairman); Betty Funchion (secretary); Jim Dalton (treasurer); Brigid Burke (Juvenile Officer); Dan Breen (PRO)..

Leinster 40x20 fixtures

Today (Wednesday) at Borris (Colm Jordan to arrange referees) 8pm GMAD Philly Parsons/Martin Lalor (Kk) v Declan Hart/Benny Doyle (Wex); at Borris (Colm Jordan) 8pm EMAS David O’Dwyer/Andy Mulligan (Wm) v Ollie Falsey/partner (Kk); Eamonn Purcell (Kilkenny) v Jimmy Reilly (Meath); Pat O’Donnell/James Gregan (Ww) v Ciaran Neary/Ger McGrath (Kk); John Brennan (Kilkenny) v Martin Clancy (Carlow); Billy Bourke (Kilkenny) v Paul Ruane OR Eamonn Rice; Paul Clifford/Richie Falsey (Kk) v Sean Ryan/Declan Cooke (Oy); Ger Anthony/Diarmuid Burke (Kk) v Colin Melody/Danny Reilly (D); Paul Dowling (Kilkenny) v Ned Kealy (Wicklow); Kevin Woods/partner (Kilkenny) v Mick Cox/Paul O’Shaughnessy (Dublin); William and Daniel Love (Kk) v Daniel Fenlon/Oliver Ryan (Carlow); Joe Hennessy (Kilkenny) v Tony Breen (Wexford)

Saturday at Leixlip (Pat Ryan to arrange referees) 4pm MD Patrick Brennan/Adrian Farrell (Kk) v Evan Sheridan and Dylan Sheridan (M); at Monavea (Patsy Dowling) 5pm over 35 BS, John Morrissey (Kilkenny) v Paddy Doyle (Wicklow); at Tinryland (Martin Clancy) 4pm over 35 BS, Stephen Barcoe (Kilkenny) v Terry Spence or Mick Cox; at Garryhill (Sean Ryan) 4pm MD, J.J. English/Brian Mahon (Kk) v Wayne Kinsella/William Quaile (Ww); 5pm GMAD Mick Dowling/Padraig Maguire (Kd) v Eamonn and Jimmy Purcell (Kk).

County 40x20 fixtures

Thursday at O’Loughlin’s (1) 8pm Mas S, Johnny Brennan (Mothel) v Philly Parsons (O’Loughlin’s); at Kells 8pm Jun S, James Bourke (O’Loughlin’s)v Michael Power (Winjdgap); 9pm junior S, James Hennessy (O’Loughlin’s) v Wesley Smyth (Windgap).

Monday at Goresbridge 8pm Mas B D, John Duggan/Jim Dooley (O’Loughlin’s) v Pat Funchion/Paddy Fennelly (Kells); at O’Loughlin’s (1) 8pm Sen D, William/Daniel Love (Clogh) v Diarmuid Burke/Brendan Burke (Kells); 9pm Mas S, Joe Hennessy (O’Loughlin’s) v Martin Lalor (Talbot’s Inch); at O’Loughlin’s (2) 8pm Mas A S, David Bourke (Mothel) v Richie Falsey (St Canice’s); Peter/Patrick Funchion (Kells)v Eamonn Hawe/Philip Lonergan (Windgap); Noel Doherty (O’Loughlin’s) v Fergal Lalor (Talbot’s Inch); Dan Breen (Kells) v Shane Walsh (Windgap); John Fitzgerald (Kells) v Aaron Butler (Windgap); Eoin Brannigan (O’Loughlin’s) v Cian Ryan (Windgap); Sean Foley (Windgap) v Darren Walsh (Windgap); P.J. Barron (Windgap) v Stephen O’Dwyer (Kells).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.