02 Jul 2022

Kilkenny's Élena Byrne claims PRO of the year in LGFA awards

Kilkenny's  Élena Byrne  claims PRO of the year in LGFA awards

THE Ladies Gaelic Football Association have announced the winners of the prestigious 2021 LGFA Volunteer of the Year Awards, in association with

Administrators, coaches and media are among those honoured across ten categories, with the scheme now in its fifth year.

The award winners will be acknowledged at a special awards function at Croke Park tonight (Friday) evening, February 11.

The event will commence at 7.00pm, with Dáithí Ó Sé performing MC duties.

Ladies Gaelic Football Association President Mícheál Naughton will be present on the night, along with representatives including Mr. Seamus Newcombe (CEO).

The 2021 winners are as follows:

Young Volunteer of the Year – Chloe Callaghan (Termon, Donegal)
School Coach of the Year – Fidelma Quinn (Moate Community School, Westmeath)
Club Coach of the Year – Bart Gilmartin (Old Leighlin, Carlow)
Local Journalist of the Year – Derrick Lynch (Clare FM)
PRO of the Year – Élena Byrne (Dunamaggin and Kilkenny LGFA)
Club Committee Officer of the Year – Carolyn Mullane (Passage West, Cork)
County/Provincial Officer of the Year – Cormac McNally (Roscommon LGFA)
International Volunteer of the Year – Eva Scanlon (Tir Chonaill Gaels, London)
Overall Volunteer of the Year (Lulu Carroll award) – Kathleen Colreavy (Naomh Mearnóg, Dublin)
Volunteer Hall of Fame – Mary Hernon (Milltown, Galway)

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.