Search our Archive


Excellent weather for family fun day

D.K.K. LOTTO- The winning numbers of the June 18th draw were- 1, 3, 14. There was no jackpot winner. The following won €30 each- Jim Bergin, Shane O’Donnell, Young Cathy, Be Martin and Oliver Herity. Next week’s jackpot is worth €2,800. The Bingo jackpot in St. Eoghan’s Centre on Saturday evening is worth €1,270. The Pool number is worth €190.

D.K.K. LOTTO- The winning numbers of the June 18th draw were- 1, 3, 14. There was no jackpot winner. The following won €30 each- Jim Bergin, Shane O’Donnell, Young Cathy, Be Martin and Oliver Herity. Next week’s jackpot is worth €2,800. The Bingo jackpot in St. Eoghan’s Centre on Saturday evening is worth €1,270. The Pool number is worth €190.

OLD PHOTOGRAPHS- of the Villages of Dunamaggin, Kells and Kilmoganny during the past century are required by the History of Dunamaggin group as it hopes to include photos from different periods in the publications so as to reflect the changes which have taken place during the past century. In addition photographs which were taken during the sever weather of 2010, in particular those which depict activities which took place during the severe snow, would be very welcome. In its discussion on places of entertainment in the parish during the past century many different halls were mentioned and photographs of Halls and Schools, particularly those which no longer exist, would be very welcome. The next meeting takes place on Tuesday July 10th at 8.0 p.m. in St. Eoghan’s Centre, Kilmoganny. All are welcome to the meeting.

cemetry mass-THE ANNUAL CEMETERY MASSES will be celebrated in Kilmoganny Cemetery on Friday 13th July, in Kilree Cemetery on Wednesday 18th July and in Dunamaggin Cemetery on Friday 20th July. All celebrations will be at 8.00 p.m.

PARKS TENNIS -coaching will take place this July in Kilmoganny beginning on Monday 16th July at 2.00 p.m. Registration will be on the starting date. For further information contact Eileen on 086 – 8943267.

CLERICAL CHANGES- This year’s clerical changes will have a direct impact on Dunamaggin Parish even though Parish Priest Rev. Nicholas Flavin is continuing as P.P. in Dunamaggin. He has also been appointed as Parish Priest of neighbouring Parish of Windgap. Since the death of Rev. Martin Cleere P.P. Windgap he has been administrator of Windgap Parish. He is the first priest in the Diocese of Ossory, at present, to be appointed Parish Priest of two distinct parishes. Both parishes will maintain their identity and distinction. It was announced at masses during the weekend that both Parish Pastoral Councils will be meeting to discuss week day and week end mass times. The present schedule of seven week end masses in the two parishes will be reduced.

fun day-A FAMILY FUN DAY was held in St. Leonard’s School, Dunamaggin on lastSunday. The weather for the occasion was excellent with some nice sunshine, unlike the weather of the recent past. The school’s second Green Flag was raised during the afternoon by pupils of the school who worked during the year on a project of energy conservation for which the flag was awarded.

The highlight of the day was the annual internal school league finals. In the Junior Final, the winning team after extra time was- Aidan O’Neill, Aaron Moore, Ben O’Sullivan, Aideen Hickey, Noelle O’Dwyer and William Brown. The runners up were Ruaidhri Holden, Padraig Davis, Steven Sheil, Shannon Wall, Katie Burke and Mark McEneaney. The final score was 3 – 0 to 2 – 0.

In the Senior final a goal just before the final whistle gave victory to Ian Walshe’s team on a scoreline of 4 – 0 to 3 – 1. The winning team was- Ian Walsh, Leah Keegan, Ellen O’Neill, Cathal Persse, Daniel O’Neill, Emily Cody, Ivan McCauley, Emma Brennan and Conor Denny. The runner up team was- Emma Denny, Darragh O’Keeffe, Sarah Davis, Leo Caspasso, Andy Hickey, Ciara Mulhall, Darragh Walsh, Siobhan Brennan, Keelagh Sheridan and Amy Kinsella who replaced Ciara Mulhall. The winning team was managed by Ms Karina Langton and the runners up by Ms Vera O’Dwyer.

The day ended with the release of over 600 balloons each with the name of a purchaser of the balloon. The balloon which is returned from the furthest destination before the school reopens after the summer will receive a €100 voucher for Super Valu, Callan. Refreshments were provided by the Parents Council and the Kells Scouts provided Burgers. School Principal, Ms Jackie Delahunty thanked all who made the day such a success and all those who helped the school during the past year. In the school hall there was a very impressive display of the pupil’s art work.

BUS TO LEINSTER SENIOR HURLING FINAL- Dunamaggin Juvenile Hurling Club are organising a bus to travel to the Leinster Final on Sunday July 8th. Anyone interested in travelling by bus should contact Colette Fitzpatrick 086 6028485. Places must be booked by Monday 2nd July. It is important when booking to state if it is only a bus place or a bus place and ticket that is required.

COMMUNITY GAMES HURLING TEAM MAXES EXIT- Last month, the Aghaviller Community Games hurling team relinquished its County, Leinster and All Ireland titles after failing to qualify from the county championships held in Johnstown. Dunnamaggin representatives on this year’s Aghaviller squad included Kieran Buckley, Jamie O’ Keeffe, Jack O’ Connell, Ger Coffey, Andy Hickey, Dylan Carroll, Daragh Walsh, Conor Denny, Shaun O’ Keeffe and Denis Walsh. The team were thrown in at the deep end when they were pitted in the same group as Dicksboro (St. Canice’s) and O’Loughlin’s (St. Johns). After seeing St. Canice’s beat St. John’s in the first match, Aghaviller were next up to face St. Canice’s and needed a win to prevent their opponents from automatically winning the group. After a great team performance where everybody battled from start to finish, Aghaviller came out on top with 4 points to spare and then set up to play St. John’s after a break. Unfortunately form deserted Aghaviller and despite having the majority of possession, the team failed to press home their advantage and came out second best. St. Canice’s won the group on scoring difference and went on to win the final comfortably. So ended a three year unbeaten run but the performances on the day showed that Aghaviller will always compete strongly in this competition and we look forward to next year and another shot at the All Ireland. The Dunnamaggin contingent contributed well on the day with strong performances especially from Dylan Carroll, Ger Coffey, Andy Hickey and Daragh Walsh. Coincidentally, former Dunnamaggin hurler Pat Moylan had a son playing with St. Canice’s and we wish them well in the Leinster and All Ireland series.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.