Graignamanagh -



Following a gap of a number of years mainly due to the fact that the Abbey Hall wasn’t in use Duiske Players drama group have been reformed. Amateur Dramatics have a strong and enduring tradition in the locality and it is encouraging to see its revival. Following a meeting a committee has been formed consisting of: Chairperson Tommy Prendergast, Honn. Secretary, Pat Kavanagh, Hon. Treasurer Helen Kavanagh and P.R.O. Jackie Douglas.Their first production will be the highly acclaimed drama “THE FIELD” from the pen of the Listowel genius John B. Keane.It is generally recognised that when the Duiske Players first staged this production some twenty odd years ago that it was the apex of the talented groups productions. With many of the original cast available the latest offering wil be eagerly awaited.


Last weeks numbers were 7,8,19,31 and with no lucky punter succeeding in matching the numbers the jackpot of £10,000 is still up for grabs. In the meantime the reserve jackpot has risen to £2,800. Consolation winners last week were: Irene Kinsella, Shelley Broaders, Catherine Whelan, Saidbh and Sean Dempsey and the O’Brien girls.


The annual charity golf classic organised by the Graignamanagh Golfing Society took place at Borris Golf Club on Saturday last and despite all the obstacles in fund raising due to the economic downturn the Society is pleased with the support and are confident that when all figures are calculated that this years chosen charity will benefit with a substantial donation.

This years beneficiary is Gahan House which due to cutbacks need funding badly. Despite a few showers the day in general was a good day for golf with the winning team of John Byrne, Dylan Farrell Pat Byrne and Andrew Barcliff scoring 90 points. In second place with 88 points were Brian Dunne Liam Dunne Jim Whelan and Jonathan Hickey. Close behind on 87 points were Billy Hoare Des Walsh Phil Walsh and Taidgh O’Shea. Next with 86 points were Jim Kielthy, Paddy Hayles Mick Kavanagh and Richie Hogan. Next also with 86 points were Rory O hEochaigh Pat Leahy, Tommy Quinn and Ed Galahue. Winners of the non GUI prize were Martin Kelly Greg Murphy, John Whelan and Paddy Murphy.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.