26 Jan 2022

Bridge corner with Kay Molloy

Abbey Bridge Club - End-of-Season Prizes: 1 Barbara Carroll, Mary Murphy, 2 Kathleen Cunningham

Abbey Bridge Club - End-of-Season Prizes: 1 Barbara Carroll, Mary Murphy, 2 Kathleen Cunningham

/ Mary Cunningham, 3 Phyl Doyle, Ann Widger, 4 Ann Bowen, Bea Johnston, 5

Marie Broggy, Kathleen O’Shaughnessy, 6 Roseanne Brennan, Josephine Cuddihy, 7 Susan Higgins, Catherine Hogan, 8 Agnes Dwyer, Pat Power, 9 Helen Tynan, Margaret Walsh, 10 Kathleen Ferguson, Kathleen O’Neill.

Club ‘9 - End-of-Season Prizes: 16 Table Scrambled Mitchell. 1 Mairead Blanchfield, Rita

Ryan, 2 Linda Darlington, Christine Leonowicz, 3 Pauline Geoghegan, Grace Marshall, 4 Margaret Drennan, Deirdre Wilson, 5 Anne Treacy, Brid White, 6 Siobhan Roberts, Helen Wall. 7 Ann O’Shaughnessy, Alice Walsh, 8 Sean Breathnach, John Bracken, 9 Joan Holden, Pat Ryan, 10 Margaret Fleming, Ros Lanigan, 11 Bernadette Denieffe, Una Mahony, 12 Brigid Holohan, Liam Holohan, Jt. 13 Helen O’Mahony, Mary O’Reilly, Breda O’Loughlin, Celine O’Sullivan, 14 Moira Dwyer, Betty Brett, 15 Joan Fitzgerald, Martha Langton.

Friary Bridge Club End of Season Prizes: 1 Barbara Carroll, Leo Monagle, 2 Eileen Johnston, Jean

Murphy, 3 Bea Johnston, Anna Keegan, 4 Maura Dore, Mary Meaney, 5 Eileen

Bolger, Pat Power, 6 Dor Lanigan, Mary Murphy, 7 Mary Kelly, Eileen Young, 8

Ann Farrell, Mary Weadick.

At the Annual General Meeting the following Officers were elected: President, Mary Weadick, Vice President, Mary Kelly, Secretary, Greta Nicholson, Treasurer, Pat Power. Committee: Ann Farrell, Ex. Officio. Mary Murphy, Eileen Young, Barbara Carroll, Dor Lanigan, Leo Monagle, Dial-a-Partner, Bea Johnston. Bridge will re-commence Wednesday, 12 September.

Kilkenny Bridge Club - End-of-Season Prizes: 1 Jim Campbell, Jaime Martin, Best Gross: Michael Reynolds, Pat Wall, 2 Eileen Fox, Colette O’Neill, 3 Breda Holohan, Maura O’Mahony, 4 Teresa Dunne, Mary Fitzpatrick, 5 Alice Brennan, Kay Creedon, 6 Mags McQuillan, Therese Pender, 7 Breda Deevy, Pat Egan, 8 Kay Molloy, Maura O’Brien, 9 Mary Gaffney, Eileen Reynolds, 10 Angela Carroll, Melanie O’Briain, 11 Jim Byrne, Hugh Donnelly Swift, 12 Breda Butler, Elizabeth Delaney,13 Mary Egan, Esther Hackett. 28 May: 12 Table Scrambled Mitchell: 1 Melanie O’Briain, Sheila Ryan, 2 Eileen Buckley, Bernadette Egan, 3 Bobby

Grace, Peter McQuillan, 4 Mary Egan, Esther Hackett.

Annual General Meeting. The following Officers were elected: President, Kay Molloy, Vice President, Alice Brennan, Secretary, Hugh Donnelly Swift, Treasurer, Mary Egan. Committee: Breda Butler-Davis, Ex. Officio. Pat Egan, Maura O’Brien, Breda Butler, Mags McQuillan, Pat Wall, Colette O’Neill. Dial-a-Partner, Teresa

McGrath. Kilkenny Bridge Club will recommence Tuesday, 11 September.

Nore Bridge Club - End-of-Season Prizes: 7 Table Howell: 1 Mary Gaffney, Mary Hennessy, 2 Jim

Byrne, May O’Neill, 3 Helen Tynan, Margaret Walsh, 4 Ellen Dowling, Mary

Morris, 5 Colette O’Neill, Hugh Donnelly Swift, 6 Greta Langton, Kathleen Price,

7 Kathleen O’Neill, Kathleen O’Shaughnessy. 7.5 Table Howell: 1 Angela Carroll

/ Teresa Dunne, 2 Melanie O’Briain, Mary Shields, 3 Bernadette Egan, Kay

Molloy, 4 Joan Fogarty, William Fogarty, 5 Eileen Buckley, Maria Troy, 6 Peter

McQuillan, Etta Shine, 7 Breda Butler-Davis, Kitty Stallard. Annual General Meeting – Officers elected. President, Therese Pender, Vice

Presidant, Anne Brennan, Secretary, Mary Morris, Treasurer, Peggie Henderson.

Committee: Ann O’Neill, Ex Officio. Ellen Dowling, Breda Butler, Colette O’Neill,

Angela Carroll, Teresa Dunne, Breda O’Gorman. Club Bridge resumes Thursday, 13


Ormonde/Castle Bridge Club - May 21. 1 Ann Cassin, Mary Doyle, 2 Annette Kelly/ Margaret Knowles, 3

Breda Butler-Davis, Bernadette Egan, 4 Noreen Cody, Richie McEvoy. End-of-

Season Prizes: 1 Noreen Cody, Sheila Ryan, 2 Kay Creedon, Mary Doyle, 3

Eileen Buckley, Teresa McGrath, 4 Margaret Knowles, Sheila O’Mahony, 5 Ellen

Dowling, Mary Shields, 6 Nuala Dunphy, Marie Murphy, 7 Maura Dore, Esther

Hackett, 8 Pauline Kenny, Phil O’Carroll. Officers elected at A.G.M. President, Lucy Hanley, Vice President, Mary Keane, Secretary. Marion Kilbride, Treasurer, Mary Doyle. Club Bridge resumes Monday,

September 17.

Rothe Bridge Club - End-of-Season Prizes: 1 Colette O’Neill, Hugh Donnelly Sift, 2 Angela Foran,

Bridget Norwood, 3 Miriam Martin, Joan O’Gara, 4 Kathleen O’Shaughnessy,

Noel Walsh, 5 Judy Rhatigan, Siobhan Roberts, 6 Josephine O’Reilly, Maura Wallace, 7 Mai Cantwell, Breda Murray, 8 Mairead Blanchfield, Margaret

Comerford, 9 Colette Ganly, Celine Mescall, 10 Mai Brennan, Betty Brett, 11

Aine Murphy, Maura O’Brien, 12 Linda Darlington, Joan Fitzgerald, 13 Alice

Brennan, Helen Wall, 14 Joan Cullinane, Myrtle Wellwood, 15 Stacia Clancy, Jim


Summer bridge will commence at Kilkenny Bridge Centre on Wednesday, June

20th. at 7.30 p.m. in aid of a Local Charity and Thursday, 21st. June to raise funds for

Kilkenny Bridge Centre. All Bridge players welcome.

51st European bridge teams championship – Dublin 2012 at

Citywest Hotel. The championship events are:- Open Team Competition &

Ladies Team Competition Tue 12th. June to Sat. 23rd. June. Seniors Team

Competition, Sat. 16th. June to Saturday 23rd. June. Open pairs will be held daily from Wednesday 13th. to Friday, 22nd. June at 2.30 p.m. daily. Further sessions may be available should there be

sufficient demand.

The tour needs to be pre-booked so that the available personnel are

on hand. Phone CBAI HQ.01-4929666 for further information. Check out

the European Bridge League website at:


As we have come to the official end of our Bridge Season in Kilkenny we will

continue with What i used to know about bridge and forgot in September.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.