11 Aug 2022

Minister unveils plaque for past Chamber presidents

Waiting for Video...

Minister for the Environment Phil Hogan was in Kilkenny today to attend an open day at Kilkenny Chamber of Commerce, and to unveil a new plaque honouring the institution’s past presidents.

The 15 surviving past presidents (since 1948) were all in attendance, including John Kerry Keane – the former editor and owner of the Kilkenny People. He flew all the way from Switzerland to be at the event.

Today’s event also saw the re-opening of the Chamber’s refurbished training and IT room.

Current chamber president Donie Butler said it was a very special day for the Chamber. It is also the 65th anniversary of the institution’s founding.

Minister Hogan said he was delighted to attend the event.

“It’s great to celebrate 65 years of the Kilkenny Chamber of Commerce,” he said.

“All the various past presidents have made a huge contribution and that’s continued today with Donie Butler.”

Afterwards, the guests attended a lunch in the Pembroke Hotel, where a special memento was gifted to each former president. The pieces were carved, from Kilkenny chestnut, by local artist Milo Hogan.

The full list of past presidents, since 1948 to the present day with most sitting for the two year team, are: JG Duggan, JJ Daly, PJ Nolan, P. Connolly, CJ Mulcahy, CE McCreery, TJ Mahon, RJ Ryan, Tom Crotty, PF Dore, JK Keane, PJ Purcell, JM Nolan, THV Good, DK O’Donovan, Eamon O’Keeffe, Margaret Tynan, TV Manning, SA Costello, Declan McCann, Martin Hanrahan, Pat Crotty, John Ryan, Brian Kiely, Tom O’Connor, David Fitzgerald, Maria Dunphy, Ger Mullally, Mike Nolan, David Culliton, Donal Higgins, John Purcell and Donie Butler (presiding).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.