Reid goal was the divider at the finish




IN A tough and close encounter at Windgap, Ballyhale Shamrocks sneaked to victory over Galmoy/Windgap in this Roinn B minor hurling league clash. The deciding score came 12 minutes from the end when county minor, Richie Reid, struck the only goal.

Despite tit-for-tat exchanges of points afterwards, it was the Ballyhale boys who took the honours.

The early exchanges were dominated by Shamrocks. They began by striking six points without reply. Patrick Mullen, Brian Cody and Richie Reid grabbed the opening three before Reid hit three in-a-row, one from a 65, to give his side a great start.

Kieran Power opened the Galmoy/Windgap account with a point after 16 minutes to which full-forward Michael Power added a similar score. The remainder of the half was evenly contested with the respective free takers, Cian Ryan and Richie Reid converting a pair of chances each. One from Michael Power closed the scoring to leave Shamrocks 0-8 to 0-5 ahead at the break.

A feature of that first half was the battle between Richie Reid and Galmoy/Windgap centre-back, Jason Stanley. While Reid grabbed three points from play, Stanley cleared an amount of ball.

For the new half, Reid moved to midfield in a swop with Conor Walsh, who had lined out for the Shamrocks senior side two days earlier.

Frees from Cian Ryan and from Frank Phelan brought Galmoy/Windgap right back into contention and with 12 minutes remaining the sides were level. Then a long Shamrocks delivery into the square broke back out to the alert Reid. Off his left, he sent a good shot through a group of players which ended in the net. That was the decider.

Frank Phelan pointed to bring it back to two points. Fifteen year old Brian Cody, who had a good came, popped up and stretched that lead again. Each team had unsuccessful goal chances before a pointed free each from Jason Stanley and Cian Ryan narrowed the gap to the minimum, but Shamrock s held out.

Ballyhale Shamrocks - Liam Elvidge, Jack Kenneally, Brian Butler, Eugene Aylward, Steven Donnelly, Owen Doyle, Kevin Mullen, Sean Malone, Conor Walsh, James Deasy, Richie Reid (1-6, 0-3 frees), Dillon Doran, Adam Moore, Patrick Mullen (0-1), Brian Cody (0-2). Sub - Keith Phelan for A. Moore.

Galmoy-Windgap - Padraig Walsh, Darren Walsh, Sean Foley (0-1), Adrian Landy, Thomas Phelan, Jason Stanley (0-1), Martin Duggan, Frank Phelan (0-2, 0-1free), Cian Ryan, capt (0-5, frees), Micheál Phelan, Kieran Power (0-1), James Vaughan , Peter Hennessy, Michael Power (0-2), Gary Lyons. Subs - Darragh Morrissey for P. Hennessy; William Phelan for J. Vaughan.

Referee - Jim Fitzgerald (Piltown).