17 May 2022

Exceptional student to represent Kilkenny in Youth Leadership awards


Sarah Grogan, Cormac Ferran Browne, Elaine O'Dwyer, Ksawier Wilczynski, Stephen Costello, Stephen Smyth

An exceptional young leader has been chosen to represent Kilkenny at the Youth Leadership Awards

CBS Callan student Ksawier Wilczynski was named as the local winner, following two rounds of interviews. He will now go on to represent Kilkenny at the regional finals, early next year.

Kilkenny Rotary Club hosted the local finals, at the Club House Hotel, on Monday, with four schools represented: CBS Kilkenny, CBS Callan, Kilkenny College and Loreto.

Judges Emer Doyle and Dermot Gaynor were extremely impressed by all contestants' leadership qualities. After serious consideration the judges found it hard to separate the candidates but Xavier Wilczynski of CBS Callan was a very worthy winner. He will be an exceptional candidate to represent Kilkenny.

CBS Kilkenny was represented by Cormac Ferran Browne, Kilkenny College was represented by Stephen Smyth and Loreto Kilkenny was represented by Sarah Grogan.

Regional winners in the nationwide competition will win a trip to Stormont in Belfast meeting MPs and the Dáil in Dublin with TDs, offering will be a huge insight into national and international politics for these students with leadership qualities.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.