18 Aug 2022

Soccer: Goal-scoring hotshot Seanie Maguire nets Premier Division Player of the Year award

Seanie Maguire

Seanie Maguire was named the PFAI Premier Division Player of the Year PICTURE: PFAI

A stellar goal-scoring season in the League of Ireland has earned Seanie Maguire another honour.
The Kilkennyman was recognised for his achievements when he was named the Premier Division Player of the Year at the PFAI awards on Saturday night. Maguire took the spoils, beating Patrick McEleney (Dundalk) and Aaron McEneff (Derry City), as his 20 goals helped Cork City win the Premier Division for the first time in 12 years.
As well as delivering the league title, the scoring run helped earn Maguire a move to English Championship club Preston North End. He was also the League of Ireland's top goal scorer, despite leaving for Deepdale in July, an achievement which also earned him a place in the Premier Division Team of the Season.
The awards ceremony was held at the Marker Hotel in Dublin. Other winners were:
Young Player of the Year
Trevor Clarke (Shamrock Rovers)

Irish Overseas Player of the Year
James McClean (West Brom)

International Women’s Player of the Year
Katie McCabe (Arsenal)

First Division Player of the Year
Kieran Marty Waters (Cabinteely)

Premier Division Team of the Year
Gerard Doherty (Derry)
Sean Gannon (Dundalk)
Niclas Vemmelund (Dundalk)
Ryan Delaney (Cork City)
Trevor Clarke (Shamrock Rovers)
Aaron McEneff (Derry City)
Patrick McEleney (Dundalk)
Gearoid Morrissey (Cork City)
David McMillan (Dundalk)
Ronan Murray (Galway Utd)
Seanie Maguire (Cork City)

First Division Team of the Year
Niall Corbet (UCD)
Evan Osam (UCD)
Kenny Browne (Waterford FC)
Daniel O’Reilly (Longford Town)
Chris McCarthy (Cobh Ramblers)
Greg Sloggett (UCD)
Gary Comerford (Waterford FC)
Derek Daly (Waterford FC)
Kieran Marty Waters (Cabinteely)
Georgie Kelly (UCD)
David McDaid (Waterford FC)

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.