18 Aug 2022

Strong second half helps CBS Kilkenny pull through

CBS Kilkenny 3-9, Presentation Athenry 0-15

Strong second half helps CBS Kilkenny pull through

A storming start to the second half saw CBS Kilkenny come from three points down and march into the post-primary schools All-Ireland hurling semi-finals.

Things didn't look good for the CBS when they trailed Presentation Athenry 0-9 to 1-3 at the break in Abbotstown, but they exploded from the traps after the restart, sent on their way by Sean Bolger's 31st minute goal.

They didn't let up after that, stringing together a run of points through Conor Heary (2), captain Niall Brassil (free) and Bolger, before Sean Boyd grabbed a 43rd minute goal to leave his side 3-7 to 0-9 in front.

The CBS had made a tentative start, Brassil and Heary cancelling out early Pres scores before they jumped into the lead for the first time thanks to Bolger's 17th minute goal.

However they didn't score again until injury-time, Brassil ending a run of five straight Pres points. The Galway side sniped two more in injury-time, enough to go in 0-9 to 1-3 up at the break.

Stunned by the strong start the CBS made to the second half, it took the Pres some time to get going.

They did claw the deficit back, getting to within one point of the leaders with time running out (3-7 to 0-15) but late points from Bolger and Brassil steadied the CBS nerves, earning them a place in the semi-finals and a meeting with Our Lady's of Templemore. Reigning All-Ireland champions St Kieran's College will face St Brigid's of Loughrea in the other semi-final.  

SCORERS: CBS Kilkenny - Sean Bolger (2-2), Niall Brassil (0-4, 0-2 frees), Sean Boyd (1-0), Conor Heary (0-3). Presentation Athenry - Evan Niland (0-11, 0-10 frees); Patrick Foley, Eoin Caulfield, Barry Callanan, Oisin Connolly (0-1 each).

CBS Kilkenny - Ben Maher; Jordan Molloy, Mikey Butler, Johnny Manogue; Peter Collins, Conor Flynn, Liam Stynes; Niall Brassil, Ronan Buckley; Sean Boyd, Sean Bolger, Conor Heary; Conor Drennan, Des Dunne, Joe Sheehan. Subs: Cillian Timmons, Shane Staunton, Tervine Wallace.

Presentation Athenry - Mark Fahy; Aaron Martyn, Conor Lee, Eamon Hickey; Hugh Lane, Conor Walsh, William Corcoran; Daniel Loftus, Adam Clarke; Liam Forde, Patrick Foley, Eoin Caulfield; Oisin Connolly, Evan Niland, Barry Callanan. Subs: Mark Kennedy, Karl Conneely, Shane Quirke, Eoin O'Donnell, Adam Brett.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.