10 Aug 2022

Development Squads are ready to roll

Development Squads are ready to roll

The Kilkenny GAA Development Squads are ready to swing into action.
On Wednesday week, April 12 a schedule of sessions have been organised. All begin at 6.30pm.
The schedule is - under-14 North in Tullaroan; under-14 South in Thomastown; under-14 Central in Clara; under-15 North in St Lachtain’s; under-15 South in Ballyhale Shamrocks; under-16 and 17 in MW Hire Park, Dunmore.
Training for the Celtic Challenge 2017 hurling tournament begins on Wednesday of next week, April 12 at the James Stephens grounds on the Kells Road (6.30pm).
The following under-17 and under-16 players have been asked to attend:
Under-17 - Sean Manogue, Fergus Byrne, James Dwyer, Adam Morrissey, Eric Kearney (James Stephens); Mark Keogh (Slieverue); Oisín Murphy (O’Loughlin Gaels); Josh Doheny (John Lockes); Robert Doheny, Paddy Brennan (St Patrick’s); Jack Brennan, Dylan Carey (Young Irelands); Danny Coyne (Bennettsbridge); Declan Duggan (Piltown); Shane Maher, Stephen Donnelly (Thomastown); Declan Buggy (Erin’s Own); Dan Comerford (St Martin’s); Jake Dwyer (Carrickshock).
Under-16 - Philly Drennan, Cillian Rudkins, (Barrow Rangers); Mick Kelly (St Patrick’s); Shane Staunton (Conahy Shamrocks); Jordyn Muldowney (Fenians); Thomas Dunne (Tullaroan); Conor Clarke (Erin’s Own); Conor Kelly, David Fogarty (O’Loughlin Gaels); Cathal O’Leary, Daragh Maher (St Lachtain’s); Stephen Keoghan (Graigue Ballycallan); Jason Butler, Aodh O’Connor, Eoin Guilfoyle (James Stephens); Lee McCann (Lisdowney); Sean Bourke (Emeralds); Aaron Kinsella (Piltown); Tim Corkery, Jamie Harkin (Bennettsbridge); Jack Elliott (Glenmore); Brian O’Meara (Kilmacow); Sean Cosgrave, Jason Byrne, Cian Kennedy (Graignamanagh); Michael Walsh, Padraig Dempsey (Mullinavat); Troy Walsh, Ciaran Mullen (Danesfort); Tom Costello (Kilmacow); Harry Walsh, Dylan Crehan, Alex Moore (Dunnamaggin); Edward Prendergast, George Murphy (Rower Inistioge); Killian Hogan (Mooncoin); Jack Holden (Thomastown); Luke McNamara (Carrickshock); Stephen Barron (Ballyhale Shamrocks).
If anyone cannot attend they should contact Richie Mulrooney (086 -0873312).
Meanwhile, the Kilkenny South under-15 hurling Development Squad will commence work in Ballyhale on Wednesday, April 12. Players should be on the pitch at 6.30pm.
Under-15 South Development Squad - Cian Cullen, Edmund Fitzpatrick (Ballyhale Shamrocks); Daniel Murphy, Harry Murphy (Bennettsbridge); Michael Prendergast, Senan Doyle (Black and Whites); Eoin Crowley (Carrickshock); Andy Hickey (Dunnamaggin); Alex Hughes, Conor Morrissey, Ian Byrne , Killian Griffin (Glenmore); Pierce Blanchfield, Fergal Suffin, Kieran Dowling (Kilmacow); Donnacha Hogan, Mairtin Gannon, Oisin Hennebry (Mooncoin); Conor Walsh, David Maher, Luke Byrne Doyle (Mullinavat); Aidan Walsh, Daryl Maye, Francis Moore, Sean O’Neill (Piltown); Craig Bolger (Rower Inistioge); William Halpin (Slieverue); Liam Treacy, Peter Connellan, Peter McDonald (Thomastown); Brian Walsh, Colman O’Sullivan (Tullogher Rosbercon); Eoin O’Brien, Jack Doyle, Padraig Foley (Windgap).
Under-14, Football
The Under-14 hurling Developments Squads for 2017 have been announced.
In a new approach, Squad coaches attended 66 blitz games over two weekends featuring all 36 juvenile clubs in the county in a reformatted Paddy Grace county Féile tournament.
The players were selected from these games and have been broken into three regional groups where the players will receive top quality coaching.
Meanwhile under-15 and 14 Gaelic football Development Squad session continues on Saturday at the MW Hire Training Centre (11am).
The football session is open to all interested players born 2002/2003. An under-15 panel will be selected to travel to Belfast to play in the Antrim Cup on April 22 while an under-14 panel will be selected for the Leinster Blitz on May 13.
The football teams are managed by D.J. Carey, Seamus Norris, Thomas Rossiter and Angelo Cullen.

Central under-14 hurling squad in Clara - Conor Dermody, Conor O’Hanlon (Barrow Rangers); Dylan Kenny, Ivan Kelly, John Doyle (Bennettsbridge); Adam Harding, Conor Cody, Noel O’Brien (Clara); Cathal Norton (Danesfort); Cillian Norton, John Canny, Stephen Doheny (Danesfort); Cian Murphy, Jack Dunne, Michael Sheehy, Tom O’Shea (Graignamanagh); Tom Brennan (Graigue Ballycallan); Adam O’Connor, Darragh Casey, Dylan O’Brien, Evan Buggy (James Stephens); Adam O’Sullivan, Ciaran Phelan (John Lockes); Conor Cody, Jordan Knight, Luke Connellan, Luke McNena, Naoise Dempsey, Zach Bay Hammond (Thomastown); Cathal Darcy, Conor Fitzpatrick, Jimmy Lennon, Tommy Phelan (Young Irelands).
Contact - Brian Young (086-2118553).
North under-14 hurling squad in Tullaroan - Jack Murphy, Josh Comerford, Mark Gunner (Conahy Shamrocks); Brian Minogue, Charlie Delahunty, Charlie Nolan, Niall Rowe, Nick Doheny, Rory O’Connor, Sean Maher, Stephen Dermody, Zach McHardy (Dicksboro); Ashley Kerr, Shane Coogan, Tommy Coogan (Erin’s Own); Billy Drennan, Matt Delaney (Galmoy); Eimhin McEvoy, Killian Dunne, Richard McEvoy, Willie Cahill (Lisdowney); John Comerford (O’Loughlin Gaels); Jack Bergin, Mark Donnelly (St Lachtain’s); Oísin Kelly, Russell Kealy (St Martin’s); Eoin Southgate, Peter Holohan (St Patrick’s); Adam Duggan, Alex Lawlor, John Doheny (Fenians); Billy Walton, Eamonn Holland (Tullaroan).
Contact - Gavin Nolan (085-1526403).
South under-14 hurling squad in Thomastown - Dara Mason, Joshua Bourke (Ballyhale Shamrocks); Sam Byrne (Blacks & Whites); Oísin Doyle, Padraig Lennon, Shane Fennelly (Carrickshock); Denis Walsh, Jimmy O’Neill, Shaun O’Keeffe, (Dunnamaggin); Billy Reid, Cathal Bernie, Michael Kirwan, Charlie Phelan (Glenmore); Harry Twomey, Liam Lacey (Kilmacow); Adam Croke, James Aylward, Shaun O’Dwyer (Mooncoin); George O’Connor (Mullinavat); Braedon Wheeler, Neil Moriarty, Tom Reid (Piltown); Eoin O’Brien, James Murphy, Rory Flanagan, Ruaidhri Delaney (Rower Inistioge); Ian Ahearne (Slieverue); Brian O’Shea, Eoin Kennedy (Tullogher Rosbercon); Adam O’Shea, Blade O’Gorman, Sean Purcell, Zac Kennedy (Windgap).
Contact - Seamus Norris (087-9230283).

The North under-15 Squad - Kevin O’Neill (Barrow Rangers); Ciaran Rice, John Paul Gamble, Sean O’Donovan (Conahy Shamrocks); Adam Byrne, Brian MacDonald, Tomas Leahy (Danesfort); Aaron Murphy, Colm O’Hara, Liam Moore, Pauric Moylan (Dicksboro); Dean Bray, Jamie Maher, Kevin Holland, Lee Holden (Erin’s Own); Eoin Delahunty, Oisin Egan (Graigue Ballycallan); Ben Cantwell, Cian Grace, Jamie O’Keefe, Michael O’Brien, Sean Ruth (James Stephens); Aidan Tallis (Lisdowney); John McNamara, Vincent O’Grady (O’Loughlin Gaels); Alan Rafter, Jack Hickey (St Lachtain’s); Bill Dowling, Matthew Shorthall, Shane Fahey, Tristan Roche (St Martin’s); Kieran Walsh (St Patrick’s); Brendan Walsh, Jack Cleere, Richard Cash (Tullaroan); Patrick Brennan (Young Irelands).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.