15 Aug 2022

Kilkenny basketballers net All-Star awards

O'Hallahan also scoops Player of the Year award


Marble City Hawks player Kelly O'Hallahan has been named the Women's Division One Player of the Year for 2017, as well as earning an All-Star.

A brilliant basketball season has reached a glittering end for several Kilkenny players.

Marble City Hawks trio Kelly O'Hallahan, Katie Fox and Aine Sheehy were honoured for their achievements in winning the Division One playoff by earning All-Star awards in the women's divisional teams. O'Hallahan, who also named the Women's Division One Player of the Year, was named in the All-Stars first team with Fox, while Sheehy scooped an All-Stars third team honour. There was also a nod for Team Kilkenny's Matt Van Pelt, who was named in the Men's Division One All-Stars third team.

Five players from each of the four divisions in the Basketball Ireland National League have been awarded All Star awards this week for the 2016/17 season, with the Player of the Year for each Division also revealed. The second and third teams in each League have also been announced.

The All Stars were selected from the votes of the National League coaches who voted for the players every month from the start of the season until the end of March.

“We’re delighted to honour the very best of our leagues for the 2016-17 season,” said Women’s National League Commissioner Matthew Hall. “The All Stars were brought back in 2015 and have proven to be very popular since then. This year’s awards recognize the best and most consistent players in Ireland.”

In the Men’s Super League, Garvey’s Tralee Warriors’ star guard, Trae Pemberton has not only scooped his first All Star here in Ireland, but has also secured the title of Player of the Year after a superb season with the Kerry side. Meanwhile, Pyrobel Killester’s Jermaine Turner and Templeogue’s Mike Bonaparte have picked up their second successive All-Stars and they are joined by new recipients Jose Maria Gil Narbon of Griffith Swords Thunder and Templeogue’s Lorcan Murphy.

Aine Sheehy was named in the Women's Division One All-Stars third team

The top three clubs in this year’s Women’s Super League meanwhile have All-Star recipients on their rosters, with Ambassador UCC Glanmire’s Claire Rockall picking up her third successive All-Star and also winning the Women’s Super League title of Player of the Year 2016/17 after a phenomenal season with the Cork side. Jazmen Boone of Courtyard Liffey Celtics meanwhile has bagged her second consecutive All-Star, while Glanmire’s Grainne Dwyer, Emma O’Connor of Liffey Celtics and Sarah Fairbanks of DCU Mercy make up the remaining spots.

The Men’s Division One All-Star awards sees five different clubs honoured, with Tanner Brooks of BFG Neptune scooping the Player of the Year award for 2016/17 and also bagging an All Star. Kaylim Noel of Ej Sligo All Stars, Mike Klinger of ITC Basketball, Eoin Rockall of Maree and Christopher Teasley of Kestrels also get the nod for All Stars.

In the Women’s Division One, play off champions Marble City Hawks’ star, Kelly O’Hallahan has secured the Player of the Year awards and an All Star, with team mate, Katie Fox also getting an All Star. Regular Season champions ITC Basketball also have an All-Star with Jamiyah Bethune scooping the honour, while Sarah Benedetti of UL Huskies and Meagan Hoffman of Oblate Dynamos all received the prestigious award.

Basketball Ireland Player of the Year 2017

Men’s Super League

Trae Pemberton (Garvey’s Tralee Warriors)

Women’s Super League

Claire Rockall (Ambassador UCC Glanmire)

Men’s Division One

Tanner Brooks (BFG Neptune)

Women’s Division One

Kelly O’Hallahan (Marble City Hawks)

Men’s Super League All Stars First team 2017

Trae Pemberton (Garvey’s Tralee Warriors)

Jose Maria Gil Narbon (Griffith Swords Thunder)

Lorcan Murphy (Templeogue)

Jermaine Turner (Pyrobel Killester)

Mike Bonaparte (Templeogue)

Men’s Super League All Star second team 2017

Dillon Stith (Belfast Star)

Mike Garrow (UCD Marian)

Kevin Foley (KUBS)

Jason Killeen (Templeogue)

Isaac Westbrooks (Griffith Swords Thunder)

Men’s Super League All Star third team 2017

Kieran Donaghy (Garvey’s Tralee Warriors)

Corbin Jackson (KUBS)

Keelan Cairns (Belfast Star)

Martins Provizors (DCU Saints)

Ryan Leonard (Garvey’s Tralee Warriors)

Women’s Super League All Stars first team 2017

Claire Rockall (Ambassador UCC Glanmire)

Jazmen Boone (Courtyard Liffey Celtics)

Grainne Dwyer (Ambassador UCC Glanmire)

Emma O’Connor (Courtyard Liffey Celtics)

Sarah Fairbanks (DCU Mercy)

Women’s Super League All Star second team 2017

Sorcha Tiernan (Courtyard Liffey Celtics)

Mimi Clarke (Pyrobel Killester)

Necole Sterling (Portlaoise Panthers)

Claire Melia (Portlaoise Panthers)

Sarah Woods (DCU Mercy)

Women’s Super League All Star third team 2017

Ebony Wells (NUIG Mystics)

Chantell Alford (Ambassador UCC Glanmire)

Jade Daly (Pyrobel Killester)

Amy Waters (Singleton SuperValu Brunell)

Eimear Mairtin (Meteors)

Men’s Division One All Stars First team 2017

Tanner Brooks (BFG Neptune)

Kaylim Noel (Ej Sligo All Stars)

Mike Klinger (ITC Basketball)

Eoin Rockall (Maree)

Christopher Teasley (Kestrels)

Men’s Division One All Star second team 2017

Sean Jenkins (BFG Neptune)

Ryan Oliver (Ulster University Elks)

Gary Walsh (BFG Neptune)

Kenneth Hansberry (Maree)

Garny Garcia Nivar (Keane’s SuperValu Killorglin)

Men’s Division One All Star third team 2017

Matt Van Pelt (Team Kilkenny)

Kevin Grey (Keane’s SuperValu Killorglin)

Adam Drummond (BFG Neptune)

Declan Wall (Keane’s SuperValu Killorglin)

Paulius Peldzius (Maree)

Women’s Division One All Stars First team 2017

Kelly O’Hallahan (Marble City Hawks)

Katie Fox (Marble City Hawks)

Jamiyah Bethune (ITC Basketball)

Sarah Benedetti (UL Huskies)

Meagan Hoffman (Oblate Dynamos)

Women’s Division One All Star second team 2017

Carlee Lough (Ulster Rockets)

Nyahsa Saraju (Ulster University Elks)

Megan Campbell (ITC Basketball)

Mairead McNally (Ulster Rockets)

Dearbla Breen (Fr Mathews)

Women’s Division One All Star third team 2017

Enya Maguire (Ulster University Elks)

Zee Shahid Martin (Ulster Rockets)

Aine Sheehy (Marble City Hawks)

Niamh Dwyer (Fr Mathews)

Marianna Troy (Ulster Rockets)

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.