10 Aug 2022

Leinster schools hurling: Dublin North make history against mighty St Kieran's college

Dublin North 1-14; St Kieran's college 1-11

Leinster schools hurling: Dublin North make history against mighty St Kieran's college

Three unanswered points during the closing seven minutes from deadly free taker, Micheál Murphy shot Dublin North to an historic first victory in the GAA post primary schools senior hurling Roinn A championship final in Netwatch Cullen Park today.
Murphy was the scoring star at the finish, but before that and right through the match the likes of Sean Currie, Kevin Burke and Lee Gannon hurt defending champions, St Kieran's College with the power of their hurling.
St Kieran's were chasing a league/championship double and four in-a-row in Leinster. They did enjoy a good third quarter during which Adrian Mullen grabbed a goal that helped get them in front, but apart from that brief period the Dubs looked the better team.
Because they are a combined team, the new champions don't go through to the All-Ireland series. St Kieran's now play the losers from the Connacht final in the All-Ireland quarter-final on Saturday, March 3.
There was little or nothing between the teams early on, and the opening four points were shared equally. Points from Eoin Cody and Adrian Mullen then got St Kieran's in front, but after Currie burst through the defence to score a good goal for the Dubs in the 20th minute the winners gained the upper-hand.
At half-time Dublin North led by 1-7 to 0-7. The losers needed two late scores from Cody and team captain, Daithí Barron to get that close.
Dublin opened the second half with a very good point from the lively Conor Berigan, but for a while afterward busy St Kieran's took over. With the help of Mullen's goal and four points from Cody the losers actually showed 1-11 to 1-9 in front turning into the last quarter.
The Dubs began to bridge the gap with a minor from a free by Murphy before they caught up at 1-11 each when Billy Ryan pointed on 52 minutes. The deadly Murphy took over from there, in a scoring sense, as the Dubs thundered on to make history.

The Dubs can look back on a good championship during which they beat two of the Kilkenny teams left in the All-Ireland series, St Kieran's and Kilkenny CBS.
SCORERS: Dublin North - M. Murphy (0-7); S. Currie (1-3); C. Derwin (0-2); B. Ryan, C. Berigan (0-1 each). St Kieran's College - E. Cody (0-8); A. Mullen (1-2); D. Barron (0-1).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.