10 Aug 2022

Allianz Hurling League: Who will join Kilkenny and Limerick in the semi-finals?


Kilkenny booked their place in the League semi-final with a win over Offaly on Monday. Who will join them in the final four? PICTURE: PAT MOORE

Kilkenny and Limerick were the first teams to book their places in the Allianz Hurling League Division One semi-finals. Now who will join them in the final four?

Attention turns to the other two quarter-finals, which were postponed last Sunday. Galway and Wexford meet in Innovate Wexford Park this Saturday (3pm) while Dublin and Tipperary meet in Croke Park on Sunday (1pm).


They met twice last year, with Wexford winning a 1B Allianz Hurling League game by 1-21 to 3-13 in Pearse Stadium in February, while Galway won the Leinster final in Croke Park in July (0-29 to 1-17).

Galway are the defending Allianz Hurling League Division 1 champions while Wexford last won the Division 1 title in 1973. Galway beat Waterford in last year’s Allianz Hurling League quarter final while Wexford beat Kilkenny. The Galway/Wexford winners will play Kilkenny in the semi-final on Saturday week, March 31.

How they reached the quarter-finals

Wexford 2-20 Waterford 0-19

Wexford 0-21 Cork 1-14
Tipperary 3-21 Wexford 1-21

Wexford 0-20 Clare 1-13

Kilkenny 0-22 Wexford 0-19

Played 5, Won 3, Lost 2

Galway 1-19 Antrim 1-16

Galway 2-18 Laois 0-17

Galway 2-19 Offaly 0-14

Galway 1-20 Dublin 1-14

Limerick 2-18 Galway 1-19

Played 5, Won 4, Lost 1 


Their last meeting was in the 2017 All-Ireland Allianz Hurling League qualifiers when Tipperary won by 6-26 to 1-19 in Thurles. Tipperary were also easy winners over Dublin in last year’s Allianz Hurling League, winning a 1A first round game by 1-24 to 1-8.

Tipperary last won the Allianz Hurling League in 2008 while Dublin were last successful in 2011. Tipperary beat Offaly in last year’s quarter-final while Dublin were relegated after losing a play-off to Clare. The Tipperary v Dublin winners will play Limerick in the semi-final on Saturday week.

How they reached the quarter-finals

Clare 1-21 Tipperary 0-19
Tipperary 1-20 Waterford 1-11
Tipperary 3-21 Wexford 1-21 
Kilkenny 2-22 Tipperary 2-21

Tipperary 1-24 Cork 1-21

Played 5, Won 3 Lost 2

Offaly 2-25 Dublin 1-15
Dublin 0-23 Antrim 0-22
Limerick 1-26 Dublin 0-17
Galway 1-20 Dublin 1-14
Dublin 3-23 Laois 0-17

Played 5, Won 2, Lost 3


Westmeath won all five divisional games, including a first round win over Carlow in Netwatch Cullen Park in late January. It was level at 0-8 each at half-time before Carlow pulled two points clear. However, Westmeath pulled away in the final ten minutes to win by 0-19 to 0-15.

Carlow lost the last two 2A finals, going down to Antrim last year and to Westmeath in 2016.

Paths to the final

Westmeath 0-19 Carlow 0-15

Carlow 1-18 Kerry 1-11

Carlow 3-23 London 0-15

Carlow 3-15 Kildare 1-6

Carlow 0-20 Meath 1-13

Westmeath 0-19 Carlow 0-15

Westmeath 1-20 Kildare 2-11

Westmeath 1-19 Meath 1-18

Westmeath 2-12 London 1-10

Westmeath 1-20 Kerry 0-16; 


Warwickshire (9pts) won four and drew one (v Louth) of their five group games while Louth (6pts) won two, drew two and lost one of their five games. Tyrone also had six points but Louth took their place in the final, having beaten the Ulster men in a Round 2 head-to-head contest.

Louth and Warwickshire met in Darver in Round 3 on February 18 when they drew 1-16 each. Louth led by two points at half-time, an advantage they also took into the closing minutes. Warwickshire, down to 13 men at that stage, staged a great recovery and pointed frees by Niall McKenna and Pat Hoban earned them a draw.

Neil Arthur is Louth’s top scorer in the Allianz Hurling League on 7-41. Niall McKenna is Warwickshire’s top scorer on 2-33.

Paths to the final

Roscommon 3-17 Louth 1-6

Louth 4-12 Tyrone 0-20

Louth 1-16 Warwickshire 1-16

Louth 4-17 Longford 5-7

Monaghan 1-13 Louth 1-13

Warwickshire 3-16 Tyrone 2-14

Warwickshire 1-14 Longford 0-11

Louth 1-16 Warwickshire 1-16

Warwickshire 2-17 Monaghan 3-13
Warwickshire 1-23 Roscommon 3-10


Lancashire won all four group games while Leitrim won three of four.  Lancashire beat Leitrim by a point (0-15 to 0-14) in Ballinamore in Round 2.

Paths to the final

Lancashire 2-25 Fermanagh 1-11

Lancashire 0-15 Leitrim 0- 14

Lancashire 2-18 Cavan 1-12

Lancashire 3-15 Sligo 2-9

Leitrim 1-9 Sligo 0-8
Lancashire 0-15 Leitrim 0- 14
Leitrim 2-12 Fermanagh 1-11
Leitrim 6-21 Cavan 3-7

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.