10 Aug 2022

Kilkenny GAA: Hennessy leads Tullogher to fine victory

Tullogher-Rosbercon 1-15, Graignamanagh 0-7

Kilkenny GAA: Hennessy leads Tullogher to fine victory

Conor Hennessy with Tullogher supporter, Maria Manning

Star attacker, Conor Hennessy, led Tullogher-Rosbercon to a strong first win in the Kilkenny under-21 hurling Roinn C championship final at wind and rain lashed Páirc Sheamuis Stiophan today.

Hennessy, who lined out at full-forward although carrying a calf muscle injury, helped himself to 1-10. Most of the points came from frees after Hennessy was fouled himself, as Graignamanagh were put to the sword during an all action second half.

Graig enjoyed slightly the better of things during the first period. Three times the scores were level as the opening six points were equally shared along the way.

Fine striker, Terry Dreelin put points back-to-back in the 17th and 20th minutes to shoot Graignamangh 0-5 to 0-3 clear on the way to interval lead of 0-6 to 0-4.

Tullogher conceded the opening point of the closing half to Dreeling from a free, but from there on they simply took over. With Jason Shiely lording it around midfield and on his own ‘40’ and Hennessy striking fear in the opposition every time he went near the ball, the winners powered on.

Three pointed frees from Hennessy levelled the scores at 0-7 each by the 35th minute. Tullogher hit the front for the first time on 40 minutes when a late tackle on David Walsh presented Hennessy with a chance from a free which he snapped up.

Graig had a player dismissed after being shown a second yellow card in the 50th minute. They were 0-11 to 0-7 behind at the time, and the game was running away from them.

The above mentioned pair were in the thick of the action again in the 54th minute when Tullogher wrapped up the title. Walsh drilled in a ball which Hennessy finished to the net (1-13 to 0-7).

SCORERS: Tullogher-Rosbercon - Conor Hennessy (1-10); David Walsh, Richard Aylward, Richard Gill, Frank Murphy, Coleman O’Sullivan (0-1 each). Graignamanagh - Terry Dreelin (0-6); Richard Foley (0-1).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.