13 Aug 2022

Handball season takes off at blistering pace for Kilkenny players

Handball season takes off at blistering pace for Kilkenny players

Pictured are the participants in the county boys county under-15 singles championship. The winner was Conor Holden (left)

The handball season started with a bang, and it is set to continue in the busy, busy mode. There was lots of action in juvenile and adult competitions during the first week of 2019.
The Leinster 40x20 season is up and running. There were wins for Clogh’s Billy O’Neill and Kyle Dunne against Meath opposition in minor singles.
Ciaran Cooney progressed in junior B singles when defeating Wexford and in intermediate singles William Love and Shane Dunne advanced to the next round too.
There was also a victory for Mary Buggy (Clogh) in ladies junior B singles. She defeated Sian Cooke (Offaly) in her first round match.
In the overage grades Jimmy Neary (Talbot’s Inch) is through to the next round in Ruby Masters singles, but in Diamond Masters singles Eamonn Purcell (Windgap) came up short against Martin Clancy, Carlow.
Gael Linn
The County Gael Linn competition was played on Friday night. Galmoy and Clogh progressed to the Leinster finals this Saturday in Cullahill.
The winning teams were Bobby Brennan and Katie Brennan (Clogh) and Niall Drennan and Una Duggan (Galmoy).
County juvenile
The county juvenile singles championships were played at the weekend. In boys under-15 singles, Conor Holden (Kilfane) scored an exciting third set victory over Harry Delaney (Kells).
The boys under-14 final was a top class affair. Here Michael Brennan, Clogh overcame James Purcell 2-15, 15-13, 15-9 and in the boys uner-16 championship Billy Drennan (Galmoy) defeated Kyle Jordan (Kilfane) 21-14, 21-7.
The doubles championships are scheduled for this weekend.
On the tournament front, Brian Mahon and Ciaran Neary battled it out for third place in the intermediate section of the Kingscourt shoot-out. The Clogh player came out on top.
Gael Linn Leinster juvenile on Saturday at Cullahill (11am) - Group 1 1 Laois 1 (Eadaoin White/John Delahunty) v Dublin (Ben Moore Roisin Kirby); final Kilkenny 2 (Bobby Brennan Katie Brennan) v winner 1 (Laois 1 or Dublin)
Group 2 - final G2 Kilkenny 1 (Niall Drennan Una Duggan) v Laois 2 (Orla Holland / Justin Duggan)
Leinster fixtures today (Wednesday) in Borris (8pm) SMBS Damien Kelly (Wexford) v Steven Halley (Kilkenny); Clogh (8pm) DMBS Tom Byrne (Wexford) v Tommy Kelly (Laois); Coolboy (7.30pm) O35B S Anthony Martin (Kilkenny) v James Stanners (Wexford); 8pm MBS David Stanners (Wexford) v Willie Murphy (Kilkenny); Coolgreaney (8pm) under-21 S Eoin Brennan (Kilkenny) v Cillian Hogan (Kildare); Crinkle (8pm) SMBS Joe Mulvanney (Westmeath) v John Morrissey (Kilkenny); Cullohill (8pm) MBS Kevin Cooke (Offaly) v Noel Doherty (Kilkenny); Garryhill (7.30pm) DMBS Miley Byrne (Wexford) v Gerry Murphy (Kilkenny); 8pm SS Gavin Buggy (Wexford) v Patrick Funchion (Kilkenny); Monavea (7.30pm) SMAS Eddie Burke (Kilkenny) v P.J. McGrath (Kildare); 8pm IS Paul Moran (Kildare)/Neil McDermott (Westmeath) v William Love (Kilkenny); Tinryland (7.30pm) GMAS Egin Jensen (Dublin) v Canice Quigley (Kilkenny); 8pm SMAS Adrian Benson (Dublin) v William Holden (Kilkenny; Windgap (7.30pm) DMBS Brendan Murphy (Wexford) v Eddie Dunne (Laois); 8pm DMBS Jimmy Dunne (Wexford) v John O'Donnell (Kildare).

Saturday, January 12 Borris (5pm) MBS (Paddy Doyle (Wicklow)/Fergal McWilliams (Wexford) v David Stanners (Wexford)/Willie Murphy (Kilkenny); 5.30pm IS Shane Dunne (Kilkenny) v Jerome Willoughby (Wicklow); CLogh (5.30pm) LJS Sabrina Hughes (Dublin) v Cora Doyle (Wexford); Coolboy (5.30pm) IS Gaelen Riordan (Wexford)/Ian Griffin (Dublin) v (Dan Fenlon (Carlow)/ Brendan Burke (Kilkenny); Cullohill (5.30pm) MBS Dave Redmond (Wexford) v Noel Doherty (Kilkenny);
Galmoy LJBS Margaret Purcell (Kilkenny) v Aoife Brophy (Laois); Garryhill (5pm) LIS Niamh Dunne (Laois) v Molly Dagg (Kildare); 5.30pm LIS Hannah Dagg (Kildare) v Marie Walsh* (Kilkenny); Horeswood (5.30pm) JS Brian Mahon (Kilkenny) v James Gregan (Wicklow)/Michael Donovan (Laois); 5pm JS Keith Bourke (Kilkenny) v Chris Doyle (Wicklow); Leixlip (5pm) IS Ciaran Neary (Kilkenny) v (Gary McConnell (Meath); Monavea (5pm) MBS Robert Byrne (Wexford) v John Boyle (Louth)/Johnathan Westlake (Dublin); O'Loughlin’s (5pm) LMS Roisin O'Keeffe (Kilkenny) v Noelle Dowling (Kilkenny); 5.3pm MS Jack Holden (Kilkenny) v Kyle Dunne (Kilkenny); LJBS Dearbhail O'Keeffe (Kilkenny) v Mary Buggy (Kilkenny); Tinryland (5pm) LMS Leah Doyle (Kildare) v Mary Ellen Phelan (Kilkenny); 5.30pm MS Billy O'Neill (Kilkenny) v Josh Kavanagh (Wexford); St Brigid’s (5pm) LJS Meadhbh Ní Dhálaigh (Dublin) v Ellen O'Connor (Kildare).
Monday, January 14 at Coolboy (8pm ) JS Darren O'Toole (Wexford)/Maurice Nolan (Kilkenny) v (Aaron Geoghegan (Carlow)
Tuesday, January 15 at Coolboy (8pm) JS Kevin Barrett (Carlow) v Adam Walsh (Wexford)/Daniel Love (Kilkenny); Ballymore (7.30pm) MBS Stuart Heslin (Louth) v Kevin Brennan (Laois); 8pm SS Eoin Kennedy (Dublin) v Peter Funchion (Kilkenny).

For more on Kilkenny People sport read here.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.