Wexford's James Owens to referee senior hurling final

Brian Keyes


Brian Keyes

All Ireland hurling finals referees confirmed

Limerick's Johnny Murphy and Wexford's James Owens will be the men in the middle on August 19

Wexford's James Owens is to take charge of his third All-Ireland senior hurling championship final when he takes to the field on August 18 when Kilkenny clash with Tipperary.

The highly respected Wexford official refereed the decider between the Cats and Galway in 2015. He also was in charge of  last year's final. 

 A member of the Askamore club, he has also refereed the All-Ireland Minor Final in 2007, All-Ireland Under 21 final in 2008 and the AIB All-Ireland Senior Club Final in 2015.

In this year’s Hurling Championship, James has refereed the All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Quarter-Final between Cork and Kilkenny and two Munster championship games between Clare v Limerick and Waterford v Clare. 

Carlow's Pat Murphy takes charge of the minor decider between Kilkenny and Galway. He is a member of the Ballinkillen club.