Galmoy won at their ease

Galmoy 2-10 Erin’s Own 1-5

Galmoy 2-10 Erin’s Own 1-5

Galmoy had a little too much strength for Erin’s Own (Caastlecomer) in this North junior hurling ‘B’ league tie at Galmoy on Saturday.

After notching up a comfortable 2-6 to 0-4 lead by half time, and with the aid of the breeze to come, it was expected that Galmoy would extend that advantage. The ’Comer boys are known for their fighting spirit, and with Thomas Dwyer and Shane Feehan excelling on the half back line, they threw down the gauntlet to their opponents after the break and restricted the hosts to just four more points.

Galmoy enjoyed a tonic start when Kieran Phelan scooped a Frank Phelan delivery to the roof of the net in the first minute. They rose a second green on the quarter hour mark when after a good one-two with Kieran Phelan ended with James Dunne slapped the ball to the net.

Erin’s Own responded and snatched good points through Griffin Carroll, and one from long range by Thomas Dwyer. Padhric Gray from frees and Frank Phelan rose a few flags for Galmoy to put the home side into a comfortable half time position.

Castlecomer fought back after the rest. They were eventually rewarded with a close in free in the 56th minute which Donal Fenlon despatched to the net.

Galmoy lost centre-back Eamonn Corcoran with a serious knee injury after a clash with one of his team mates in the 44th minute. Leo Doherty and Martin Duggan did well in defence for the winners, while long campaigners Donal Dunne and Joe Meagher never gave up for the visitors.

Galmoy - Joe Ryan, Mick Murphy, Brian Doherty, Eoin Glendon, Leo Doherty, Eamonn Corcoran, Martin Duggan, Kevin Duggan (0-1), Charles Brennan, Frank Phelan (0-3), James Dunne (1-1), Joe Dollard (0-1), Kieran Phelan (1-0), Padhric Gray (0-4, 0-3 frees), Brendan Delaney. Subs - Darragh Morrissey for M. Murphy; Brandan Phelan for E. Corcoran (inj); Jack Delaney for K. Duggan; Brendan Sherman for L. Doherty (inj).

Erin’s Own - Jim Buggy, Caoimhán Dunne, Damien Mullins, Martin Fogarty, Joe Meagher, Thomas Dwyer (0-1), Shane Feehan, Donal Dunne (0-1, 65), Shane Murphy, Donal Fenlon (1-1, 1-0 free), Eoin Rothwell, Griffin Carroll (0-2), Joe Coogan, Mark Rothwell, Stephen Dwyer. Subs - Cathal Murphy for J. Buggy; Martin Owens for J. Coogan.

Referee - Pat Hayes (Graigue-Ballycallan).