Shamrocks find that bit extra to claim Kilkenny Junior Title

Conahy Shamrocks 3-14 Dicksboro 0-19 AET

Shamrocks find that bit extra to claim Kilkenny Junior Title

Conahy Shamrocks made up for last year's County Final defeat with a four point extra-time victory over Dicksboro in the Kilkenny Junior Hurling Final at UPC Nowlan Park.

The defending All Ireland Junior Champions made up for a loss at the hands of O'Loughlin Gaels in 2019 with a very composed display to advance to the Intermediate ranks.

A brace of goals from James Bergin helped the goal hungry Conahy based outfit fend off Dicksboro who were looking to gain consolation for last weekend's Senior Final loss.

Conahy Shamrocks looked to be in control when Kieran Mooney and James Bergin netted opening half goals but Dicksboro's second string battled back brilliantly and were leading entering the final few minutes.

A 57th minute Alan Healy point did get Shamrocks out of jail though to force the extra period with the sides level at 0-16 to 2-10.

Dicksboro briefly went ahead again in the added on time but another Bergin goal settled the tie in Shamrocks favour.

Scorers for Conahy Shamrocks: James Bergin 2-7 (0-5fs), Kieran Mooney 1-2 (0-1f), Tom Phelan 0-2, Eddie Delaney 0-1, Darragh Dooley 0-1 and Alan Healy 0-1.

Scorers for Dicksboro: David Ryan 0-10 (0-6fs), Padraic Moylan 0-3 (0-1fs), Sean Boyd 0-3, Aran Murphy 0-1, Paul O'Flynn 0-1, Joe Sheehan 0-1.

A full report on the big game will be in this week's Kilkenny People.

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.