Search our Archive

Big wins for Liam and Brenda

CLUB President Des Fitzgerald held his prize competitions on Saturday, attracting a big field of golfers to Mount Juliet GC.

CLUB President Des Fitzgerald held his prize competitions on Saturday, attracting a big field of golfers to Mount Juliet GC.

The weather gods smiled kindly on all competitors, with the conditions reflected in the scoring for the day. Top prizes in both competitions were won by Liam Duggan and Brenda O’Sullivan.

Brenda is having an excellent year. After winning the recently matchplay competition, in which she beat Rebecca Nixon, Brenda returned a winning score of 42 points to claim another major trophy. She is also in close pursuit of Rebecca for the title of Golfer of the Year as well.

In Saturday’s competition Brenda failed to score on the short third but completed her first nine holes with 17 points. She really turned on the style on her second nine, scoring a further 25 points. Although she finished her round with bogies on the par five 17th and 18th holes, she had already done enough to hold on for victory.

Alison Hoyne finished in second place, just one shot back. She was followed closely by Kathleen Gaffney and Eileen Duggan, who were two shots adrift of the winner.

The men’s division was even more closely-fought with three players returning 39 points. On a countback, it was Liam Duggan who just got the nod.

Liam, who had the unfortunate experience to visit the water with his second shot on the fourth, failed to score with his provisional. Despite that he still managed to accumulate an impressive 18 points for his first nine holes.

Liam added a further 21 points on the back nine holes, which included a winning 25-foot putt on the last for a par. He beat William Kirby and Sean Brett on a countback to win his first major prize at Mount Juliet.

MEDAL - The September Monthly Medal is down for decision this Sunday, an event which will decide the outcome of both Golfer of the Year prizes.

Neil Magee still holds a slender lead going into the final round of the men’s section. He looked a likely winner of last Saturday’s prize when he turned with 21 points after nine holes, but faded on the last nine holes where he scored 15 points.

The ladies GoY title is just as delicately balanced. Brenda O’Sullivan is narrowly ahead of Rebecca Nixon in the race for the spoils.

RESULTS - Results, President Des Fitzgerald’s Prize competition, September 15:

Men’s section - 1 Liam Duggan (12), 39pts (last six); 2 William Kirby (11), 39pts. Cat One: Sean Brett (11), 39pts. Cat Two: James E. Brett (14), 39pts. Cat Three: Dick Walsh (22), 39pts. First nine: Neil Magee (8), 21pts. Second nine: John Thompson (11), 22pts.

Past Captain: James J. Brett (16), 35pts. Par fives: Michael Kelly, 10pts. Par threes: Michael Williams, 11pts.

Ladies section - 1 Brenda O’Sullivan (29), 42pts; 2 Alison Hoyne (36), 41pts; 3 Kathleen Gaffney (23), 40pts; 4 Eileen Duggan (16), 40pts. First nine: Sheila MacDonald (30), 20pts. Second nine: Lucia Ahern O’Flaherty (15), 20pts.

Past Captain: Myra Phelan (23), 35pts. Par fives: Nora Deane, 13pts. Par threes: Brenda Fitzgerald, 11pts.

Junior Prize: Tim Howes, 37pts.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.