24 May 2022

Grease is the show! Kilkenny school musical is back!

St Kieran’s College and the Presentation Secondary School


The cast of Grease. Picture: Harry Reid

The school musical is back! St Kieran’s College and the Presentation Secondary School are delighted to announce their production of Grease - their first show together in 21 years!

The classic favourite will be performed from April 28th - April 30th 2022 in the Watergate Theatre.

A joint production between St Kieran’s College and Presentation Secondary School, the show will involve the vast majority of the Transition Year groups from both schools. 

Grease is a 1978 musical romantic comedy based on the 1971 musical of the same name directed by Jim Jacobs and Warren Casey. Danny Zuko, the main T-Bird falls for new girl Sandy Dumbrowski during the summer of 1958. When they return to school, Danny and Sandy cross paths once more. Named after the 1950s United States working-class youth subculture known as greasers, the musical is set in 1959 at fictional Rydell High School and follows a group of working-class teenagers as they navigate the complexities of peer pressure, politics, personal core values, and love. 

The cast have been rehearsing rigorously already this year with the hope of producing a fantastic event. School musicals were very common within St Kieran’s College and Presentation Secondary School through the mid-nineties with the last production between the two schools being staged 21 years ago in 1999. School musicals began in the schools in 1987 under the guidance of Fr Richard Scriven and Ms Veronica McCarron. 

We are delighted that this tradition has been reignited and look forward to an exciting few weeks in the lead up to this production under the guidance of Ms Sarah Brennan, Ms Michele Wise, Ms Mary Minchin, Mr Fergal Brennan and Mr Micheal Shiel. 


Sandy Dombrowski - Aoibhinn Morrissey 

Danny Zuko - Ronan Hackett 

Betty Rizzo - Sarah Blanchfield 

Kenickie - Sean Bergin 

Frenchie - Joy Lonergan

Doody - Sean Cahill 

Jan - Mya Deegan 

Roger - Tomas Roche 

Marty - Natalia Polozner 

Sonny Latierri - Josh Owens 

Patty Simcox - Heather Dolan

Eugene Florcyzk - Gavin McMahon

Ms Lynch - Naoise Kelly 

Vince Fontaine - Kealan Gray

Cha-Cha Di Gregorio - Jimena Castillo

Teen Angel - James Comerford

Johnny Casino - Ned Langton 

Male Chorus: 

Oisin Bateman, Charlie Bibby, James Brennan, Seán Carrigan, Seán Casey, Tom Cleere, Ryan Cody, Adam Coyne, Ben Crow, Alexis Fitzgerald, Rory Glynn, Joe Greene, Cathal Hickey, Joe Hughes, Timmy Kelly, Edward McDermott, Aaron McEvoy, Tom McPhillips, Andy Murphy, Jeff Neary, Richard Nolan, Sean Roberts, Rory Smithwick, Paddy Walsh, Sean Young.

Female Chorus: 

Valerija D, Louise Hearne, Laura Phelan, Amy Lawless, Samantha TK, Niamh Ryan, Lucy Canavan, Jacquline Wallace, Holly Begley, Doireann Coughlan, Victoria O’Flynn, Ava Sheridan, Niamh Galway, Ally Casserly, Johanna R, Kayla Costello, Kieva Cody, Zoe Korthout, Sarah Kenny, Gemma Lawler, Aoife Larkin, Grace Byrne, Olivia Powell, Leah Roche, Aisling Dwan, Rachel Brickell, Nessa Ryan.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.