17 Aug 2022

Kilkenny CBS pass 'Counsel test at the second attempt

Kilkenny CBS 2-10, Good Counsel 0-10


Sean Boyd (Kilkenny CBS) gets his shot away during the Leinster Schools SH A semi-final replay against Good Counsel. Photo: Pat Moore

A goal in either half gave Kilkenny CBS a senior hurling win, but they had to work hard to see off a dogged Good Counsel. 

Conor Drennan's late strike proved to be the decisive score as the city side battled to victory in this rescheduled semi-final in Thomastown. 

Both sides found the going tough in the difficult under-foot conditions but Counsel, led by free-taker Luke Sinnott, took control early on. Sinnott helped himself to five points in the first half (four from frees) but the Wexford school were hauled back when Sean Bolger pounced to boot the loose sliotar to the net in the 14th minute. 

The CBS couldn't build on that goal though, with the sides going in all square (1-3 to 0-6) at the break. 

Johnny Manogue (CBS) retains possession despite pressure from several Good Counsel players. Photo: Pat Moore

Parity remained for long spells of the second half - the sides were level eight times - before the CBS made their late charge. Drennan took over free-taking duties, converting a placed ball before grabbing Sean Boyd's 56th minute pass and rifling it to the net (2-8 to 0-10). 

The Counsel resistance was broken. Two more Drennan frees sent the CBS on their way to victory and a Leinster final meeting with old foes St Kieran's College on February 25. 

“We knew that Good Counsel were going to come with a renewed energy," said CBS mentor Matthew Ruth. "They outfought us for large periods of the game, but we stuck with them and finished strongly."

SCORERS: CBS Kilkenny - Conor Drennan (1-4, 0-4 frees), Sean Bolger (1-2, 0-2 frees), Niall Brassil (0-3), Des Dunne (0-1). Good Counsel - Luke Sinnott (0-9, 0-8 frees), Sean Nolan (0-1).

CBS Kilkenny - Ben Maher (O’Loughlin Gaels); Liam Stynes (Dicksboro), Johnny Manogue (Dicksboro), Mikey Butler (O’Loughlin Gaels); Conor Flynn (Graigue-Ballycallan), Jordan Molloy (O’Loughlin Gaels), Cillian Timmons (Dicksboro); Ronan Buckley (O’Loughlin Gaels), Niall Brassil (James Stephens); Des Dunne (Danesfort), Treveine Wallace (O’Loughlin Gaels), Conor Heary (O’Loughlin Gaels); Sean Bolger (O’Loughlin Gaels), Sean Boyd (Dicksboro), Conor Drennan (Galmoy). Subs: Joe Sheehan (Dicksboro) for Timmons, 35 mins; Mick Doyle (Barrow Rangers) for Wallace, 51 mins; Shane Staunton (Clara) for Heary, 60 mins.

Good Counsel - Jack Byrne Doyle (Mullinavat); Gavin Sheehan, Darragh Hartley (Glenmore), Cathal O’Connor; Darragh Lyons, Eoin Porter, Sam Wall; Richard Hennessy (Glenmore), Emmett Coakley (Graignamanagh); Sean Nolan, Diarmuid Kehoe, Jimmy Sutton; Kevin O’Donoghue, Luke Sinnott, Jamie Myler. Sub: Dylan Morrissey (Tullogher-Rosbercon) for O’Donoghue, 50 mins.

Referee - Brochan O’Reilly (Laois).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.