14 Aug 2022

Kilkenny hurling: minors challenged to drive on again against Tipperary in All-Ireland semi

Kilkenny hurling: minors challenged to drive on again against Tipperary in All-Ireland semi

Kilkenny have given a vote of confidence to the players who got things back on track last weekend by beating Limerick for Sunday's Electric Ireland minor hurling championship semi-final against Tipperary in Croke Park (1.30pm).
The Cats ambled through the preliminaries in Leinster, but then suffered a bad defeat against Dublin - who they had beaten earlier - in the provincial final. That was followed by a flat performance and bad defeat against Galway in the All-Ireland quarter-final, Round 1.
Kilkenny manager, Richie Mulrooney, challenged the players to bring their good form from the second half against Galway into last weekend's Round 2 quarter-final match against Limerick.
The players did exactly that, he insisted after a much improved showing and victory, and now he has challenged them to do the same again against the Munster champions.
Kilkenny (MH v Tipperary) - Jason Brennan (Young Irelands); Pádraig Dempsey (Mullinavat), Jamie Young (O'Loughlin Gaels), Dylan Crehan (Dunnamaggin); Darragh Maher (St Lachtain's), Shane Staunton (Clara), Jamie Harkin (Bennettsbridge); Conor Kelly (O'Loughlin Gaels), Cian Kenny (James Stephens); Jack Morrissey (St Patrick's), Ciarán Brennan (Bennettsbridge), George Murphy (Rower Inistioge), Cathal O'Leary (St Lachtain's), Dan Coogan (Erin's Own), Jack Buggy (Erin's Own).
Subs - Stephen Keoghan (Graigue Ballycallan), Harry Walsh (Dunnamaggin), Pádraic Moylan (Dicksboro), David Fogarty (O'Loughlin Gaels), Chris Korff (Erin's Own), Killian Rudkins (Barrow Rangers), William Halpin (Slieverue), Killian Hogan (Mooncoin), Eoin Guilfoyle (James Stephens).
Management - Richie Mulrooney (manager); selector, Adrian Finan, Sean Kelly, Martin Carey, Niall Bergin.
Tipperary (MH) - Aaron Browne (Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams); Conor O’Dwyer -(Cashel King Cormacs), Conor Whelan (Mullinahone), Kevin Hayes (Moycarkey-Borris); Johnny Ryan, capt (Arravale Rovers), Seán Phelan (Nenagh Éire Óg), Frank Hanafin (Holycross-Ballycahill);
Max Hackett (Moycarkey-Borris), John Campion (Drom-Inch); Seán Hayes (Kiladangan), Cian O'Farrell (Nenagh Éire Óg), Kian O’Kelly (Kilruane MacDonaghs); Devon Ryan (Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams), Ryan Renehan (Cappawhite), James Devaney (Borris-Ileigh).
Subs - Enda Dunphy (St Mary's, Clonmel), Kevin Maher (Borris-Ileigh), Mikey O’Shea (Mullinahone), Keith Ryan (Upperchurch-Drombane), Jack Morrissey (Moycarkey-Borris), Billy O’Connor (Kilsheelan-Kilcash), Jack Lanigan (Thurles Sarsfields), James Synnott (Roscrea), Darren Flood (Moycarkey-Borris).

For more of Kilkenny People sport read here.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.