18 Aug 2022

Kilkenny junior final: Willie Phelan penalty goal shot Dunna' to victory and back to inter grade

Dunnamaggin 1-16, Piltown 2-8

Kilkenny junior final: Willie Phelan penalty goal shot Dunna' to victory and back to inter grade

Dunnamaggin, who were relegated from the intermediate grade last season, made a swift return when they scored a strong win over Piltown in the Kilkenny junior hurling championship final in Nowlan Park today.
A 54th minute goal from a penalty by former Kilkenny player, Willie Phelan, signed and sealed the victory. Phelan crashed a powerful shot to the net after the impressive John Fitzpatrick had been fouled.
Piltown pulled back a late goal form a penalty by Peter McCarthy, but the game was long gone and Dunnamaggin's second junior title to go with the one won in 1994 was in the bag.
The winners opened backed by the strong wind blowing from the country end. They were slow to put their mark on the game, but when Thomas Maher, Darren and Adam Fitzpatraick put their fifth, sixth and seventh points together they began to look really strong (0-7 to 0-4).
They hit half-time leading by 0-11 to 1-5, Kevin Brophy having scored a great goal for Piltown a minute into lost time.
The good hurling winners, playing into the elements and all, extended their lead to 0-14 to 1-6 by the 39th minute.
Piltown had the next point from free taker John Kenny, but they suffered a bit of a setback in the 46th minute when they had a penalty saved at the expense of a 65. This was converted by Kenny.
Dunnamaggin, with Phelan, Michael Cody, John Fitzpatrick and Ronan Coffey hurling really well maintained their grip on things, and when Phelan fired home the goal from the penalty the title was theirs.

Dunnamaggin, who fielded without the injured Noel Hickey, will now represent Kilkenny in the Leinster club championships. 
SCORERS: Dunnamaggin - Thomas Maher (0-6); Ronan Coffey (0-4); Willie Phelan (1-0); Darren Fitzpatarick, John Fitzpatrick (0-2 each); Michael Cody, Adam Fitzpatrick (0-1 each). Piltown - John Kenny (0-6); Peter McCarthy, Kevin Brophy (1-0 each); Cian Kinsella, Ronan Ryan (0-1 each).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.