25 May 2022

Kilkenny SHC- Donohue strikes late to give James Stephens last gasp win over Dicksboro

James Stephens 2-16 Dicksboro 2-15

Kilkenny SHC- Donohue strikes late to give James Stephens last gasp win over Dicksboro

Cian Kenny of James Stephen's is fouled by Cillian Buckley of Dicksboro during the Kilkenny County Senior Hurling Championship quarter-final in UPMC Nowlan Park. Pic: Piaras O'Midheach/Sportsfile

A 58th minute goal from James Stephens corner back Shane Donohue gave the Village a narrow one point victory over Dicksboro in a thrilling Senior Hurling Championship Quarter-Final at UPMC Nowlan Park on Sunday afternoon.

James Stephens were trailing for long periods and it was only after the introduction of team captain Conor Browne and the experienced Eoin Larkin that they managed to turn the tide.

Cian Kenny was the best star on show for James Stephens as he scored five points from play in a very impressive display at centre forward.

While the game took it's time to come to life, an opening half Tadhg O'Dwyer goal had given James Stephens a four point lead before quickfire efforts for goal from Andy Gaffney and Aidan Nolan changed the tone of the game.

With Shane Stapleton duly knocking over a number of frees, the Boro led 2-7 to 1-8 at the break.

The sides then swapped points until the second water break with Dicksboro continuing to lead on the scoreboard.

A couple of Cian Kenny points in the 49th and 50th minutes levelled up matters and it was anyone's game going into the final stages.

Dicksboro looked primed to grab the victory when Bill Sheehan and Robbie Fitzpatrick pointed to give them a two point lead but they were rocked when Donohue struck for James Stephens late on.

Kenny then struck his sixth point of the game and while Andy Gaffney got a score in response, it arrived too late as James Stephens held on for a crucial one point victory.


James Stephens- Cian Kenny (0-6, 0-1f), Eoin Guilfoyle (0-5, 0-5f), Tadhg O'Dwyer and Shane Donohue (1-0 each), Matthew Ruth (0-3), Niall Brassil and Luke Scanlon (0-1 each)

Dicksboro- Shane Stapleton (0-7, 0-5f), Andy Gaffney (1-1), Aidan Nolan (1-0), Bill Sheehan (0-2), Cillian Buckley (0-1, 0-1f), Robbie Fitzpatrick, Timmy Clifford, Liam Moore and Mark Nolan (0-1 each)

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.