17 May 2022

Kilkenny in the running for Camogie Soaring Stars awards

Kilkenny Sport

Kilkenny's Ciara Phelan has been nominated for a Soaring Star award PICTURE: SPORTSFILE

Kilkenny and Antrim lead the way with nominations for this year’s Camogie Soaring Stars.

IIntermediate Champions Antrim feature player nominations in each line of the pitch for this year’s Camogie Association Soaring Stars nominations. Catrina Graham (Goalkeeper), Chloe Drain, Maria Lynn, Niamh Donnelly (Full-Back Line), Caoimhe Conlon (Half-Back Line) Nicole O’Neill, Lucia McNaughton (Midfield), Maeve Kelly, (Half-Forward Line), Róisín McCormack and Caitrin Dobbin (Full-Forward Line) are all nominated. 

Runners-up Kilkenny are represented on the nominations list by Sinead Farrell (Goalkeeper), Niamh Leahy, Róisín Phelan (Full-back Line), Sarah Crowley, Leanne Fennelly (Half-Back Line), Ciara Phelan (Midfield), Eva Hynes, Sarah Walsh (Half-Forward Line), Ciara O’Keeffe and Sophie O’Dwyer (Full-Forward Line).

Semi-finalists Galway receive five nominations and are represented through Laura Ward, Caoimhe Mahon, Ava Lynskey, Elisha Broderick and Cora Kenny. Meath have four players nominated, with Claire Coffey, Aoife Minogue, Jane Dolan and Amy Gaffney all selected. Laois are the remaining Intermediate team on the nomination list through defender Clodagh Tynan.

All-Ireland Premier Junior Champions Wexford receive three nominations, with Aideen Brennan, Chloe Cashe and Ciara Banville all featuring on the shortlist for the Leinster outfit. Runners-up Armagh also received three nominations for Ciarraí Devlin, Aislinn Harvey and Ciara Donnelly, completing this year’s selection. 

The 2021 Soaring Stars team will be announced at a gala banquet at the Osprey Hotel in Naas, Co. Kildare on Friday, November 26 subject to government guidelines, where the 2021 All-Stars team and Players’ Player of the Year Awards will also be announced. Nominees for the Camogie Association/GPA Senior, Intermediate and Junior Players' Player of the Year Awards will be announced on Wednesday, October 27.

Speaking about today’s announcement, Uachtarán Hilda Breslin said: It is a wonderful achievement for our players to be recognised for their outstanding performances throughout the 2021 inter-county season. Their skill, dedication and consistency has shone throughout the summer, today they are deservingly being recognised with these nominations. I am delighted that once again we will be able to celebrate in person. I congratulate all our nominees on today’s achievements and I look forward with great excitement to the award’s ceremony on November 26.

The Nominees for the 2021 Soaring Stars are:


Catrina Graham (Antrim), Sinead Farrell (Kilkenny), Ciarrai Devlin (Armagh)

Full-Back Line:

Chloe Drain (Antrim), Niamh Leahy (Kilkenny), Maria Lynn (Antrim), Aislinn Harvey (Armagh), Róisín Phelan (Kilkenny), Niamh Donnelly (Antrim), Laura Ward (Galway)

Half-Back Line:

Sarah Crowley (Kilkenny), Aideen Brennan (Wexford), Caoimhe Conlon (Antrim), Claire Coffey (Meath), Leanne Fennelly (Kilkenny), Clodagh Tynan (Laois), Caoimhe Mahon (Galway)


Chloe Cashe (Wexford), Nicole O' Neill (Antrim), Lucia McNaughton (Antrim), Ciara Phelan (Kilkenny), Aoife Minogue (Meath)

Half-Forward Line:

Maeve Kelly (Antrim), Ava Lynskey (Galway), Eva Hynes (Kilkenny), Jane Dolan (Meath), Ciara Banville (Wexford), Elisha Broderick (Galway), Sarah Walsh (Kilkenny)

Full-Forward Line:

Róisín McCormack (Antrim), Caitrin Dobbin (Antrim), Ciara O' Keeffe (Kilkenny), Amy Gaffney (Meath), Ciara Donnelly (Armagh), Cora Kenny (Galway), Sophie O' Dwyer (Kilkenny).

The nominations for the 2021 All-Stars Team and the winner of the 2021 Manager of the Year will be announced tomorrow (Tuesday).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.