19 May 2022

Callan Thomastown councillors elect new chairman

Kilkenny Kilkenny Kilkenny

Cllr Michael Doyle, new chairperson of the Callan Thomastown Municipal District, and new vice-chair Cllr Joe Lyons

Callan Thomastown municipal district has elected a new chairman for the coming year.
At their first in-person meeting in many months, councillors elected Cllr Michael Doyle as their chairman.

The Fine Gael councillor is taking over the role from Cllr Peter ‘Chap’ Cleere, Fianna Fáil.
Fine Gael’s Cllr Joe Lyons was elected to the role of vice-chairman for the year ahead.

Speaking about his plans for the next 12 months, Cllr Doyle told the Kilkenny People that he would like to continue the efficiency the Municipal District has already shown over the course of the last couple of years.

“We have a good group of councillors there, who work hard for the people, and that will continue over the coming year.”

The district councillors will now return to holding virtual monthly meetings, to maintain social distancing.
The other members of Callan Thomastown Municipal District Committee are Cllrs Deirdre Cullen, Matt Doran and Patrick O’Neill.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.